About esta

ESTA was founded in 1990 in Brussels by the German and Dutch smoking tobacco associations (VdR and VNK). ESTA is the voice of European companies that manufacture and produce fine-cut (rolling) tobacco, pipe tobacco, traditional chewing tobacco and nasal snuff tobaccos.

ESTA members mainly are  European smaller and mid-sized companies, including family-owned business, of which several exists for over a century. As such ESTA represents a tobacco entrepreneurship, whose value is tied to traditional products and a longstanding European cultural heritage.

The core markets for fine-cut tobacco are Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium / Luxembourg, France and the UK.

The core markets for pipe tobacco are Germany, the UK, Denmark and France.

The core markets for nasal snuff tobacco are Germany and the UK.

Smoking tobacco comprises approximately 11% of the total sales of tobacco products in the European Union: around 10% for fine-cut tobacco and less than 1% for pipe tobacco.


Mr Peter van der Mark Secretary General
Mrs Federica Zolla EU Affairs Manager
Mr William Meyer EU Policy Officer


Mr Christian Greiveldinger Landewyck Tobacco S.A. Luxembourg Chairman
Mr Michiel Reerink JT International SA Belgium Vice-Chairman
Mr Giovanni Carucci British American Tobacco Belgium Belgium  
Mr Alan Hardacre Imperial Tobacco Group Belgium Belgium  
Mr Rob Zwarts Scandinavian Tobacco Group A/S Denmark  
Mr Patrick Engels Verband der deutschen Rauchtabakindustrie  Germany  
Mr Marc Von Eicken Verband der deutschen Rauchtabakindustrie Germany  
Mr Per Buch Mac Barren Tobacco Group Denmark  

Working Groups

Products Working Group Chairman: Michiel Reerink
Tax & Trade Working Group Chairman: Bart Alkemade
Technical Taskforce Chairman: Bob van Mierlo
Traditional Nasal Snuff & Chewing Tobacco Working Group

Chairman: Patrick Engels